This section is for tutorials on all Apple laptop and desktop computers.

How to Factory Restore in OS X

When selling a computer you should always make sure you clear out any and all data you've put on the computer. The best way to make sure of that is to do a factory restore. While you think backing up and deleting is enough it's always best to do a full reset to clear any and everything.

 

This tutorial will show you how to factory reset your OS X computer from the built-in recovery.

Before You Restore

Back up any important data you need before you being the restore.

 

If you are restoring on a MacBook KEEP IT PLUGED IN TO POWER UNTIL THE RESTORE IS COMPLETE! If the computer powers off in the middle of a factory restore it can cause severe damage to the system and this will greatly hurt the selling value of your computer.

 

When reinstalling OS X an internet connection is required.

System Restore

Recently Added

Want to find out what your device is worth?